Formal debate on pantheism

Propose a formal or informal debate or discussion in this forum. Declare a challenge/invitation or respond to one.
Jobar

Formal debate on pantheism

Post by Jobar » Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:47 am

I'd like to take part in a discussion on pantheism, and its relation to atheism.

As most know, I've been identifying myself as an atheist/pantheist for many years. In the past, I've had believers and skeptics both who found this contradictory- usually atheists.

Ideally, I should like to do this with both a believer and a skeptic simultaneously, but I don't really see that happening.

If anyone is willing to defend the proposition that pantheism is essentially different from atheism, that the two are completely incompatible, then please PM me.

aria

Post by aria » Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:52 am

"Jobar" wrote:I'd like to take part in a discussion on pantheism, and its relation to atheism.

As most know, I've been identifying myself as an atheist/pantheist for many years. In the past, I've had believers and skeptics both who found this contradictory- usually atheists.

Ideally, I should like to do this with both a believer and a skeptic simultaneously, but I don't really see that happening.

If anyone is willing to defend the proposition that pantheism is essentially different from atheism, that the two are completely incompatible, then please PM me.

This is a good link: http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/pantheism/

I think pantheism closly resembles the agnostic more than atheism.

http://www.allaboutphilosophy.org/agnostic-2.htm

I have been wondering about these things myself.

I hope this helps and would be interested to know more myself.

Jobar

Post by Jobar » Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:48 am

Valheru

Post by Valheru » Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:44 am