Talkfreethought refugee

Welcome to the Secular Café! Say hello and introduce yourself!
DrZoidberg

Talkfreethought refugee

Post by DrZoidberg » Mon Oct 09, 2017 6:52 am

Hello

I've been active on the Talkfreethought forum since it was Internet Infidels. Since it's future is in question and I enjoy talking with other secularists I thought I'd join this gang.

I'm a Swedish IT guy living in Denmark and working for a company called Dong Energy. Yes really. That's what it's called.

I belong to the group of people who was so shielded from religion growing up that I had no idea what it meant in practice to be religious that I really didn't know anything about it well into becoming an adult. So I can tell you what happens when people like that hear about god theories. Well.. one person like that. I thought it was a preposterous array of hypothesis. That fascinated me. So I started studying religion. Not so much because I wanted to learn about god. But I wanted to learn about god's appeal. I just didn't get it. It's been 25 years now, and I'm none the wiser.

My conclusion is that humans aren't rational and rarely have an interest in being rational. My best evidence against creationism is the theory of creationism itself. Only an idiot or gullible fool would come up with that theory, or support it. Which means that if God created us to be intelligent and rational he/she/it/them failed miserably. The only reason a god could have for making us on purpose stupid would be to cover up the fact that it doesn't exist. Logic!

justme

Post by justme » Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:04 am

Or allowing us to see our falts as a common issue that we can work together on. Humanity is not a collection of flaws but a connection of possibilities. A collaboration to find betterment in ourselfs and others.

Sey

Post by Sey » Mon Oct 09, 2017 1:11 pm

Jumped ship, eh?
Welcome to the cafe.